Butterbeers, Whispering Galleries, and a Tube Strike, OH MY!

DSC_4386
Reunited and it feels so good! 🙂

Sorry for not posting in a few weeks but it’s been a busy time with my family in town visiting from Vancouver YAY!! It has been great having them here and will be very sad to see them leave on Monday! But with that, work, planning trips and other randomness that has been occupying my time and head space in the past little while, finding time to sit at my laptop and write  have unfortunately been pushed to the backburner.  Which is frustrating me because there are so many blog posts I want to write, and so little time to write them at the moment! So for now I’ll do a quick recap and hopefully be able to write full stories on each in the near future!  And it will help me actually remember what I did that was worthy of writing about!

Tour Guide duties aside, I hope everyone is enjoying the lovely tube strike we’ve been having the past few days :S For those not in London, we are on day 2 of a 3 day tube strike which means longer commutes and shorter fuses by everyone involved.  I don’t understand how inconveniencing the people who you want to be supporting you accomplishes anything.

I do feel bad that people will potentially be losing their jobs because it must be scary and upsetting to have been in a job for years and all of a sudden be looking for a new one, and I can sympathise with how hard it is to find a job in this city, but by making people commute for an extra hour or two each day due to limited or no service on a lot of the underground lines to prove a point, only creates frustrated, angry and blurry eyed commuters who are half asleep when they get to their main method of transportation and completely asleep on their commute home.

And with safety concerns being a part of the union’s bargaining tactics, having hundreds of commuters jammed onto a platform on the brink of being pushed onto the track, doesn’t really make me think that our safety is really at the forefront of their concerns.

Anyhow, that’s enough of my rant 🙂

Transit strikes aside, I have so many awesome things that have happened over the past couple of weeks! The best thing about having family in town is being able to do all the touristy things and forget that I actually do live here, until Monday mornings roll around and it’s back to work time 🙂

Some of the highlights from my family’s trip so far that I’m HOPING to write  posts about in the near future are:

  •  A day out in Greenwich including a trip to the Maritime Museum and a ride on the Thames Clipper!  Possibly one of my new favorite neighbourhoods!
  • The Natural History Museum.  For some reason I always get drawn to the Dodo birds…. I must have been one in a previous life.. or still kind of am one 😉
  • St. Paul’s Cathedral and the whispering gallery, YES! I walked up all those stairs, and what an amazing view from the top!
  • The Harry Potter Studio Tour part deux! Just as good the 2nd time round,  and I think they’ve perfected the Butterbeer since the last time I was there!
  • Where to find a semi-decent facsimile to my beloved Double Double from Tim Horton’s.  Definitely deserves a spot on the highlights list!
  • My first Prince Charles cinema experience watching “The Room” which I am still completely confused by. This wasn’t with the family but still deserves a write up anyway due to it being so bizarre!
  • And the BEST Sunday Roast I’ve had since being here, and it just so happens it was in my neighbourhood pub!!! I know where I’ll be spending future Sunday’s to come!

This list is going to keep expanding if I don’t get on the blog posts soon!!  But for now, it’s to bed to rest since it’ll be another early start in the morning to battle the crowds. HEAD DOWN, ELBOWS UP and don’t forget to tap in and tap out 😉

Good night London!

Krismas x

Leave a comment